Catholic Prayer book
Can anyone remember the 'little prayer book' it was about two inches x two and a half inches. It cost 6d I think and for some reason mine kept disappearing so I had to buy one every week. In it was Catechism, 10 Commandments, Mass, wedding ceremony and more. The Mass was in Latin and while i was still at school the Catholic church in all it's wisdom, changed the Mass from Latin to English. I think it might have been when High Church and the Catholic church joined up. Being a catholic, my use of Latin was very useful when I studied English so that I could interpret some of the usage of Latin words in the English gramma. j
I remember there was 2 versions when i was at school Joanii.
A blue covered one which we used in Infant School & in Junior School, we moved onto the red covered one.
It was the blue one that I remember. They were lovely. I tried to get one at the Bible Shop in newcastle but sadly, no luck. x j
Don't think they've been printed for years Joanii. I tried to get one for my daughter when she was little in the 80's. I tried both the little shop that was at the back of St Matthew's church after Sunday Mass & the Bible Shop but couldn't get one.
to joanii and pauline m, do you remember the priest coming in once a year to test the class on how well they knew the chatacism,he would point at anybody and ask you a random question, god help you if you didnt know the answer, after he left,if one of the finnigans was teaching you, the kids of today dont know the meaning of stressed out:mmph::mmph::mmph::mmph::mmph::mmph:
crazy horse Wrote:to joanii and pauline m, do you remember the priest coming in once a year to test the class on how well they knew the chatacism,he would point at anybody and ask you a random question, god help you if you didnt know the answer, after he left,if one of the finnigans was teaching you, the kids of today dont know the meaning of stressed out:mmph::mmph::mmph::mmph::mmph::mmph: